Article for Current: By shifting focus, Whiteness Project aims for deeper discussion of race in America

I’m nearing the end of my internship for Current and I think my last few articles have been some of my favorites and my best. For my latest article, I wrote about “The Whiteness Project: Inside the White/Caucasian Box” from filmmaker Whitney Dow. I pitched this story to my editor after seeing such a wide range of reactions to this project online.  You can read the full article here.

Here’s an excerpt from the article:

Dow felt that no one had undertaken a serious project about whiteness and that many white Americans have not discussed the issue. White Americans should examine the role their race plays in society, he said, to become “fully vested participants” in the larger discussion of racism and racial issues in the U.S.

 

2 responses to “Article for Current: By shifting focus, Whiteness Project aims for deeper discussion of race in America

Leave a Reply

