#TBT: Afropunk 2014

This year, Afropunk was from Aug. 23-24 and boasted a dream lineup with Lianne La Havas, D’Angelo, Princess Nokia, Juliana Huxtable, Cakes Da Killa and many more. It was the weekend before the start of school and my friends and I decided it was worth the four hour drive up to Brooklyn from D.C. to see some of our favorite musicians.

We spent the nights at my friend’s cozy apartment in Morningside Heights so it was a long subway ride to Commodore Park in Brooklyn. Still, it was a chance for me and my friends to befriend the subway system and pretend to be New Yorkers for the weekend.

It was such a beautiful Sunday when I was there! 

IMG_0219

I had the best mango smoothie. Truly a gift! 

IMG_0216

Cakes Da Killa really killed his set! 

IMG_0236

SZA was very late for her set. Technically, she was very good, but her personality kind of rubbed me the wrong way. 

IMG_0255

My friend and I decided to skip The Internet’s set and went to a cafe that had FKA twigs’ album art, almost like a mini-exhibit. 

IMG_0262

The festival ran well into the night. 

IMG_0269

D’Angelo closed the festival but he was nearly two hours late. He didn’t perform any of his older material like “Brown Sugar”. It was a bit of a letdown. 

IMG_0271

We ran into some very cool graffiti on the way home. 

IMG_0279

By the end of the weekend, we were basically experts of the subway system.

Maybe there’s a future of calling New York home? We’ll see!

IMG_0207

Here are more photos! 

Leave a Reply

