Concert Review: Darwin Deez Put On the Moves

IMG00371-20130405-2349

Darwin Smith or more commonly known as Darwin Deez

On April 5th, Darwin Deez played a sold out show at The Black Cat (if you haven’t figured it out, The Black Cat is one of my favorite venues in DC because you can get as close to the stage as possible and it’s a nice, intimate setting). It took two opening acts to finally get to his set but it was worth it. The first opener was Me & This Army, a local band from Baltimore (well, if you’re from MD, it’s considered local here). The lead singer, Courtney Hargrove, had an amazing, rock-tinged voice and her style was on point. It’s always a good sign when the opening act is actually good.

The second opening act, Caged Animals, is a four-piece band from Brooklyn actually touring with Darwin Deez. While the first opener was a bit more rock, Caged Animals was slight more dream pop. Lead vocalist, Vincent Cacchione, was a trying showman; he really wanted the crowd to love his music though some people weren’t as perceptive. While I enjoyed them, a few people around me were being rude and talking during the set, texting others, and being outright mean. I wouldn’t have had a problem with it if they weren’t in the front but they were just being mean and somewhat pretentious. (I’m sorry, but no one asked for your opinion. If you think you’re so great, then you make your own music.)

Finally, when Darwin Deez came on stage, the crowd went wild. (I also have the setlist from that night but I can’t find it at the moment.) Deez took time between a few songs to do a choreographed dance with his band; it was amazing! Overall, he sounded great and maybe even better live. After the show, my friend and I got to meet and chat with the lead singer from Me & This Army, I got to fangirl over Magali Francoise’s outfit (she’s the keyboardist and vocalist for Caged Animals), and we even snagged a pic with Darwin’s mom, Susan Smith! If there’s anything I’m getting from this college experience, it’s that I love music more and more and I can’t get enough of live shows. I just want to go to live shows every night!

One response to “Concert Review: Darwin Deez Put On the Moves

  1. Hi, I do believe this is a great web site. I stumbledupon it
    😉 I may come back yet again since i have book marked it.
    Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and continue to
    guide others.

Leave a Reply

