Concert Review: Where It All Began – Maroon 5

Adam Levine, frontman of Maroon 5

Adam Levine, frontman of Maroon 5 (Photo courtesy of my friend)

If you’re wondering how my live show mania started, it all began May 5th, 2011 at the Rod Laver Arena in Melbourne.

My friends had heard about the Maroon 5 world tour and how they were only playing a few shows in Australia. I liked Maroon 5 casually and thought that their last album, Hands All Over, was decent but a great departure from their debut album, Songs About Jane. I decided to go if only to catch a glimpse of the gorgeous Adam Levine and maybe hear “Sunday Morning” live. However, I was not expecting them to be…good. Like, actually good. I thought Levine’s voice would translate as shrill live but without the production, his voice came out cleanly and strongly. Though I have qualms about the direction the band is heading musically, I will admit that Levine is a perfect showman, interacting with the crowd and singing songs with all his might. The opening acts included Australian singer, Ry Cuming, and old favorite, Sara Bareilles but they were overshadowed by Maroon 5’s jam-packed set.

Leave a Reply

