School Daze

IMG00070-20120716-0715

I had the pleasure of volunteering at my grandmother’s elementary school for a few days during my trip to Indonesia. I brought my ukulele and taught English songs to grades 3, 4, and 5. It was a really cool experience mostly because I usually can’t stand kids and also the fact that these kids were so eager to learn. It reminded me how much kids in the US take education for granted; it’s free here but in Indonesia, you have to pay and going to school is a privilege, not a right. Though my teaching methods were probably dubious (how much English can you really learn from the “Hokey Pokey”?), the kids were really welcoming and fun.

Leave a Reply

