Nope Nope Nope

IMG00079-20120718-1536

Nope. Sorry, I refuse to pop a squat. Never ever will I use this.

This is me being a bad traveler again. I’m sorry but I absolutely refuse to use what I affectionately call “pop-a-squat” toilets. It’s basically a glorified hole in the ground. I’m really not that high maintenance – at least I really try not to be – but I put my foot down at squatting to do my business. Unfortunately, pop-a-squat toilets are so common in Indonesia that they’re really hard to avoid. They’re even on trains! Like, why?!?! On the train from Jakarta to Jogja, I had to test the limits of my bladder’s capacity waiting for nine hours until I practically sprinted to the hotel across the train station to use a proper toilet. If there’s one thing I’m thankful for, it’s sitting toilets where I can relax and not worry about permanently damaging my back.

Leave a Reply

