Hello Bali!

575676_3818512855046_1455119535_n

Just some ol’ fashion frolicking on the beach

When my aunt told me she was taking me to Bali, I was ecstaticI’d never been to Bali before which is always such a shock to people because whenever I mention my Indonesian heritage, everyone immediately assumes that I’ve been to Bali. Well, I hadn’t. (Another confession: I’ve never been to Canada either and I’ve lived four hours away from the border for my entire life.)

I’m sure coming to Bali as a foreign tourist is a different experience. My Australian host parents came to Bali and loved it (Bali is basically a second home for many Australians). But as a “domestic” tourist, it was really…strange. It’s hard to explain. There’s a lot of development – hotels, shops, and restaurants practically cover the southern part of the island which is where most of the tourists are. But it’s just so crowded and the beaches around these parts are terrible because they are drowning in garbage. There’s garbage everywhere and it’s really off-putting. I’ve heard the northern part of the island is more natural but I didn’t get a chance to go there. I only stayed three days which is not enough time at all.

There’s almost too much catering towards the needs of tourists. Anyway, I won’t start a social commentary because I really just want to post some nice pictures because I’ve neglected to do so for nearly a month. Basically, I really had a great time and the weather was beautiful! I went para-sailing, I saw some beautiful views, and I got a nice golden glow.

These glass bottom boats  let us see the bustling life under water!

These glass bottom boats let us see the bustling life under water!

What's the ocean like? Well, it certainly is big and blue

What’s the ocean like? Well, it certainly is big and blue.

This was another part of the island with a gorgeous view

This was another part of the island with a gorgeous view

Leave a Reply

