Merry King of the Bush

Image

Just a kookaburra chillin’ on the farm

I know it seems that I visited the cities a lot but I actually lived in the country, about two hours north of Melbourne. I lived on a farm and I got to wake up to a beautiful sunrise every morning and the sound of cockatoos and kookaburras. Let me tell you, these birds are not the joyful songbirds that sweetly greet you in the States. Cockatoos and kookaburras are loud and obnoxious especially when there’s a bloody flock perched on the gum trees every morning.

When I first heard a kookaburra, I thought it was a monkey which was weird considering monkeys aren’t really native to Australian wildlife. The second time I heard a kookaburra, I thought it was cute. The third, fourth, fifth, hundredth time I heard a kookaburra, I was ready to…well, to avoid getting hate from animal lovers, let’s just say I got a bit annoyed after a while. When they’re silent, kookaburras can seem pretty cute.

2 responses to “Merry King of the Bush

  1. Your humorous description of cockatoos and kookaburras has changed my thought of what living in the Australian countryside would be like! I would love to see a kookaburra in its natural habitat, but I’m pretty happy with my sweet songbirds.

    • Haha, it’s not all that bad! You definitely get used to it after a while. There are so many beautiful aspects to the Australian countryside though so don’t knock it down just yet!

Leave a Reply

